Hungry

Quick and easy soy glaze

It feels good to be back home 🙂  I’ve missed my kitchen.  I’ve missed cooking on a gas hob. I don’t understand why anyone thought that an induction cooker was a good idea.  It’s a terrible heat source to cook on.

To cap off my lovely weekend at home, I indulged in a lovely duck breast and to keep it healthy(ish) I made some cavolo nero.  I don’t normally make a sauce with my duck but I had a hankering for Chinese-style roast duck.  Actual Chinese roast duck required a little too much work just for dinner for one so I cheated and just made a soy-based sauce and drizzled it over pan fried duck.  It wasn’t quite roast duck but it was delicious all the same.

And I think I negated some health benefits of the cavolo nero by cooking it in the excess duck fat.  I’m not sorry.


This makes enough for 2 duck breasts (~400g)

Ingredients

Knob of ginger, sliced

5 black peppercorns

3 cloves

1 star anise

1/2 cup of light soy

1 cup water

1 tablespoon honey

Directions

Bring all ingredients to a simmer until it becomes syrupy.

 

Leave a Reply

